Firefighters Honored By Exchange Club Of SWM

The Firefighters of the Year have been honored by the Exchange Club of Southwest Michigan. The club held its annual awards Tuesday, recognizing firefighters from Benton Harbor, St. Joseph, and the surrounding townships. Royalton Township Fire Chief Ron Koebel said they let their own guys decide.

“Anually, we throw it out to the firefighters at the department to nominate firefighters for Firefighter of the Year,” Koebel said.

Koebel said the volunteers and professionals honored at the event all dedicate themselves to constant training and outreach to help keep their communities safe. The exchange club also saluted retiring Lincoln Township Fire Chief Ron Burkett.